As we’ve established on our other pages, Texas likes to do things differently compared to the rest of the 49 states. Along with having unique DWI and assault laws, we also have complicated drug laws. Since we Texans like to go big or go home, we have some of the harshest penalties for drug possession in the nation. For example, possession of any amount of heroin gets a Washington resident a maximum of five years in prison. In Texas, being in possession of 5 pounds or more of marijuana can get you up to 99 years in prison. Here at Caprock Bail Bonds, we don’t judge you based on what you are arrested for. Our job is to help you regain your freedom from jail so you have time to consult with a lawyer before your court hearing. We can help you or a loved one post bail for drug charges in Lubbock, TX when you call us at 806-722-2120.
We Provide Bail Bonds For Drug Charges
Besides the obvious possession, manufacture, and selling of drugs, there are many other drug charges in Texas, including:
- Purchase, Consumption, or Possession of Alcohol by a Minor: Class C misdemeanor with a fine up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, 40 hours of community service, a suspended driver’s license, and mandatory alcohol awareness education
- Public intoxication: Class C misdemeanor with the same penalties as listed above.
- Delivery of Marijuana: Less than one-quarter ounce if delivery is without compensation is a Class B misdemeanor. Less than one-quarter ounce if delivery is for compensation is a Class A misdemeanor. 5-20 pounds is a 2nd-degree felony. 50-2000 pounds is a 1st-degree felony and guarantees a jail term of 10-99 years and a fine of $100,000.
- Possession of Marijuana: Less than 2 oz. is a Class B misdemeanor. 2-4 oz. is a Class A misdemeanor. 5-50 pounds is a 3rd-degree felony. 50-2000 pounds is a 2nd-degree felony. If you are in possession of over 2000 pounds of marijuana, you will face anywhere from 5-99 years in prison and a fine of $50,000.
- Manufacture of Delivery of a Controlled Substance: 1-4 grams is a 2nd-degree felony. 4-200 grams is a 1st-degree felony. 200 grams or more is 10-99 years in prison with fines up to $250,000.
- Possession of a Controlled Substance: 1-4 grams is a 3rd-degree felony. 4-200 grams is a 2nd-degree felony. 200 or more grams and anywhere from 5- 99 years in prison an up to $250,000 in fines depending on the number of prior drug arrests.
Contact a Bondsman Today
With Lubbock being the city of Texas Tech University, drug charges are frequently handed out to partying college students. Even just providing alcohol to a minor can get you a Class B misdemeanor drug charge. If you, a friend, or loved one has been arrested and put in jail on drug charges in Lubbock, TX, call Caprock Bail Bonds at 806-722-2120 for help posting bail.