What Happens When You Get a DUI for the First Time?

Drunk driving accounts for 40% of accidents in the state of Texas.

Bail Bonds Services

Driving under the influence is still a major epidemic in our country. Even so in the state of Texas, where 40% of accidents are related to a DUI incident. Just as texting and driving is wrong, so is drunk driving and yet it still happens. Texas has a no-tolerance stance when it comes to drunk driving because the consequences and effects of driving drunk do not stop once you’ve paid your bail. That is why law enforcement, government officials, non-profit activists work hard to spread the message about the importance of sober driving. If you need help acquiring money for a DUI bail in Lubbock, TX, contact Caprock Bail Bonds at 806-722-2120.

If you need help getting money to pay a DUI bail, contact Caprock Bail Bonds.

DUI Bail Bonds

So, what happens when you get a DUI for the first time? A DUI charge in the state of Texas means a driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between .05% and .08%, both are above the legal limit. It’s important to note here, DUI and DWI are charged differently in the state of Texas. DWI charges are considered more serious because a drivers BAC rate is typically higher than .08%. That can mean higher penalties and possible jail time.

A first DUI charge, however, is generally considered a misdemeanor offense. This means drivers will have to pay fines, participate in community service, have their license suspended, and have a possible probation. The process for a first time DUI typically goes as follows:

  • Arrest for suspicion of driving under the influence
  • Charged with a DUI classification
    • DUI with Any Detectable Amount of Alcohol: up to $500 fine, drivers license suspended for 60 days, 20-40 hours of community service, and mandatory alcohol awareness classes.
    • Note: any minor older than 17 with a BAC of or greater than .08% can face DWI charges, the same as someone listed as 21 or older.
  • Booking or Processing
    • A police officer takes your information, fingerprinting, etc.
    • You will be placed in a jail cell until you can post bail
  • After processing, can pay bail to get out of jail
    • By paying to be released from jail, driver is consenting to show up for all scheduled criminal proceedings, including arraignment, preliminary hearing, pre-trial and possible trial.

The ultimate question is, how much is bail for a DUI? In the state of Texas, bail for a DUI arrest can be up to $500. That being said, be mindful of the fact that there are other factors that can play into  DUI penalty fees. Open containers mean that drivers will have to pay an extra $500, on top of the penalties, fees, and bail. The cost for a DUI adds up quickly. For any bail bond services in the Lubbock, TX area, Caprock Bail Bonds are the only team you can trust.

While DUI charges may seem minor, the consequences can last 10 years or longer.

The Price of a DUI

Once you’ve paid your bail and completed your community service, the effects of a DUI are not complete. Most drivers will have their license suspended for a period of time ranging from 30 to 180 days. If there is any detectable amount of alcohol in your vehicle, your license is automatically suspended for a minimum of 60 days. More importantly, DUI charges stay on record for 10 years. You can go through the process to challenge and even trying to expunge your records, but the process is time-consuming and costly. Not everyone can afford to do that, which is why paying your bail and showing up to court dates is highly encouraged.

A driver’s prior record also plays a big role in the overall cost of a DUI charge. Those with prior records – for driving under the influence and more – can be expected to pay more in penalties and fees, upwards of $10,000. More seriously, a judge can see DUI bail denied if a driver’s prior record is serious enough. Remember, this is all in regards to misdemeanor charges. Felony DUI charges can pay up to $50,000 in fees and bail and see longer jail time. Most drivers, generally speaking, will be charged with a misdemeanor DUI.

If you are arrested a second time while driving under the influence, the second DUI bail amount can range from $5,000 to $10,000. It’s important to note here that, any driver with a valid drivers license has already consented to participate in a breathalyzer test. Failure to cooperate in the breathalyzer test will mean automatic arrest.  

Frequently Asked Questions

Do first time DUI offenders go to jail?

In every state, DUI’s are considered misdemeanors. Misdemeanor sentences can see jail time around six months, but it depends on the severity of the crime, prior record, and the discretion of the judge.

Is it worth getting a lawyer for first DUI?

If there is evidence of your innocence or the punishment seems greater than the crime, then getting a DUI lawyer may be beneficial. Otherwise, most DUI arrests are charged as misdemeanors and have standard sentences handed down, in which case, a lawyer may not be necessary.

How long do you have to stay in jail for a DUI?

Since DUI’s are classified as misdemeanors, drivers could see jail time for up to six months, depending on the sentencing.

Is it possible to get a DUI dismissed?

Yes, but the process is very difficult. You will have to go through a trial to prove your innocence. And you can go through the process to have your arrest record expunged afterward, to keep your record clean. But either process is time-consuming and expensive.

When you need immediate assistance for a DUI arrest, call Caprock Bail Bonds. We are your local bail bonds company ready to help. Call Caprock Bail Bonds, 806-722-2120, for DUI bail in the Lubbock, TX area.